The Monts d'Arrée Ecomuseum is a French museum rooted in its territory.

A border territory between Léon and Cornouaille, a high altitude territory, the highest point of the region, a rural territory, deserted in places, a territory animated, however, by a spirit of initiative, adaptability, innovation, which makes it a territory resolutely turned towards tomorrow.
The Ushant and Monts d'Arrée ecomuseums were created in 1969 as part of the dynamics of the creation of the Armorique Regional Nature Park. Created in response to a desire on the part of the inhabitants to conserve traditional heritage, which had previously been little considered, they have an innovative vision which consists of drawing from the "little history" of the places and of those who lived there more general lessons which shed light on the present. According to the concept of "mirror museum", the main purpose of the ecomuseum is to reflect the characteristics of a lived territory in which the inhabitants are the main actors.
Giving a voice to the inhabitants to better accompany the development of the territory; preserving the memory of stones, things and people; passing it on and thus helping to prepare young and old alike for the challenges of today, such are the missions of the ecomuseum.

 

A territory, a heritage

Between nature and heritage, the Monts d'Arrée Ecomuseum is an invitation to discover two remarkable sites: the village of Kerouat in Commana and the Cornec house in Saint-Rivoal.
In the heart of a 12-hectare landscaped site, the village of kerouat (Commana), remarkably preserved, bears witness to the daily life of a family of millers in the 19th century, the Fagots. Nestled in the heart of a green valley, the village developed around the first mill built in 1610. The exploitation of the mills and the surrounding nature have enabled the inhabitants to provide for their needs over the centuries in perfect harmony with the environment.
On the other side of the ridge line, even before Saint-Rivoal The house built in 1702 by Yvon Cornec and his wife Anne Broustal, next to the old chapel of the truce of Brasparts, was already a town. This house, a small manor house, has been preserved in its original state. But all around, life goes on, the houses are occupied, fitted out according to the progress of "modern comfort". The Bothorel house, next to the Cornec house, bears witness to this evolution until the 1950s. In the heart of the village, the richness of this heritage is adjacent to the conservatory orchards of the eco-museum: a journey back in time, a nature walk, on the way to Mont Saint-Michel de Brasparts!

L’écomusée des Monts d’Arrée est un musée de France ancré dans son territoire.

Territoire frontière entre le Léon et la Cornouaille, territoire d’altitude, point culminant de la région, territoire rural, désert par endroits, un territoire animé, pourtant, d’un esprit d’initiative, d’adaptabilité, d’innovation, qui en fait un territoire résolument tourné vers demain.
Nés dans la dynamique de la création du Parc naturel régional d’Armorique à partir de 1969, les écomusées d’Ouessant et des Monts d’Arrée sont les deux premiers de France. Créés pour répondre à une volonté des habitants de conserver les patrimoines traditionnels jusqu’alors peu considérés, ils déploient une vision novatrice qui consiste à tirer de « la petite histoire » des lieux et de ceux qui y ont vécu des enseignements plus généraux qui éclairent le présent. Selon le concept de « musée-miroir » l’objet principal de l’écomusée est de refléter les caractéristiques d’un territoire vécu dont les habitants sont les principaux acteurs.
Donner la parole aux habitants pour mieux accompagner le développement du territoire ; conserver la mémoire des pierres, des choses et des gens ; la transmettre et participer ainsi à préparer les petits et les grands aux défis d’aujourd’hui, telles sont les missions de l’écomusée.

 

Un territoire, des patrimoines

Entre nature et patrimoine, l’écomusée des Monts d’Arrée est une invitation à la découverte à travers deux sites remarquables : le village de Kerouat à Commana, la maison Cornec à Saint-Rivoal.
Au cœur d’un site paysager de 12 hectares, le village de kerouat (Commana), remarquablement préservé, témoigne de la vie quotidienne d’une famille de meuniers du XIXe siècle, les Fagot. Niché au cœur d’une vallée verdoyante, le village s’est développé autour du premier moulin bâti en 1610. L’exploitation des moulins et de la nature alentours ont permis aux habitants de pourvoir à leurs besoins à travers les siècles dans une cohabitation parfaite avec l’environnement.
De l’autre côté de la ligne des crête, avant même que Saint-Rivoal ne soit un bourg, se dressait déjà, auprès de l’ancienne chapelle de la trêves de Brasparts, la maison construite en 1702 par Yvon Cornec et sa femme Anne Broustal. Maison à apoteiz, petit manoir de notable, cette maison est conservée dans son état d’origine. Mais tout autour, la vie se poursuit, les maisons sont occupées, aménagées en fonction des progrès du « confort moderne ». La maison Bothorel, à côté de la maison Cornec témoigne de cette évolution jusque dans les années 50. Au cœur du bourg, la richesse de ce patrimoine jouxte les vergers conservatoires de l’écomusée : un voyage dans le temps, une balade nature, sur le chemin du Mont Saint-Michel de Brasparts !